An older painting continued

March 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

I was already about to throw this painting away, because it was started with the wrong colors, but then I thought why not give it at least a try. If the colors (W&N Artisan) are going to crack, I can still throw it away, if not, maybe it turns out nicely.

If my memory doesn’t fail me I remember having read somewhere in the Artisan spreadsheets that those colors weren’t suitable for glazing techniques. I cannot remember the exact reason why, but my best guess would be because their whites could be made with safflower oil? Well anyway, since I’m a curious person and would like to see myself what will happen I decided to give it a try nevertheless.

This is my underpainting, it has been touch dry for a couple of days and tonight I’m going to start with the first few glazes.

copy after Bouguereau, WIP, oil on canvas

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An older painting continued at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

