hobby vs. hobby

June 20, 2008 § 7 Comments

dolly stockings – pen & ink in sketchbook

This year in April I became infected by the ABJD-Virus. No, it’s nothing serious, don’t worry, it’s just expensive. Horribly expensive. ABJD is an abbreviation for Asian ball-jointed dolls. They are really beautiful, such cuties ^^! If you haven’t heard of them before and want to check out some examples, just follow the following links to marvel at their beauty. And their prices.

Now since the dolls themselves are that outrageous expensive (or do you consider up to $ 700 for one doll as reasonably priced?!?), I just had to economize somewhere and so I started sewing at least the outfits for them myself. Phew, sewing turned out to be quite time consuming, so I didn’t find much time for painting the last weeks. However, now that I’m broke (yes, I ordered a doll), I have more time for drawing and painting again.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to hobby vs. hobby

  • Gillian says:

    Crikey, Sylvia – those dolls are amazing. Which one did you buy? I’m not into dolls but those DOD ones are beautiful. I much prefer the adult-looking ones. For anyone into dress designing and sewing they would be such fun! Can’t wait to see yours. x

  • :) Silvia says:

    Well, dress-designing, face-painting, wig-making – that’s the reasons I like them, too :). Oh, and not to forget: they work as wonderful drawing models as well.
    As I do also prefer the adult looking ones, it’s going to be a DOD (DOT) doll, the one called Homme Ducan :)! Well, he is going to arrive in autumn… it’s still a little while till then…

  • Anita Davies says:

    Beautiful dolls, hope you’ll find time to sketch her when she arrives.

  • luci says:

    Sylvia! I had to check out Homme Ducan. It must be hard to make the decision. Those dolls are absolutely gorgeous!

    *This is a silly question: But, why do you have to sew his clothes? Does he come au naturale?

  • :) Silvia says:

    Oui, they come *très* naturale and this isn’t a silly question, Luci! Guess how surprised I was when I found out, that those dolls don’t come all dressed up at these prices!
    But I’m a bad person… just the day I wanted to order and pay him… I changed my mind and now I have become the proud owner of a little elf-boy instead.

  • luci says:

    Hehehe. Thanks for correcting my French, Silvia. It’s only plain to see that my French is as good as my Chinese. Ha! I should have used phrase like “bare as a jay bird” or something like that ;D You’re not a bad person at all. I think you are smart and wise. If anyone is going to spend a lot of money of something, she better makes sure that she’s getting something that she really wants. Elf boy sounds wonderful … I have a weakness for pointy ears myself 🙂

  • :) Silvia says:

    Oh Luci, no no, this was not meant as a correction. Your French was correct, I just wanted to stress out that these dolls are even more naked than naked. Unlike other dolls they are very…eh… anatomically correct, you know….*blush*

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading hobby vs. hobby at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

