One step forward and then…

April 30, 2008 § 5 Comments

well it’s a strange old game – you learn it slow
one step forward and then it’s back to go

(Dire Straits – The Bug)

sweets

“sweets”, oil on canvasboard, w: 30 cm h: 20 cm

Tried an unsual approach this time.  I choose a  different medium this time (linseed  oil) and worked very wet …or should I have said fat since we’re talking about oil colors?  Don’t like this kind of working very much, but I’m going to give it some more tries, before I’ll throw my linseed oil away :). Perhaps I’ll get used to it? Who knows…

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to One step forward and then…

  • Gillian says:

    Yum! I’m loving your daily paintings.

    I get frustrated with watercolours too, btw. I like the instant buzz of acrylics, the fact that you can paint over the mistakes, slap white where you want it and get good textures. Nothing wrong with mixed media. Just enjoy what you’re doing.

  • This looks great silvia, I love it. Maybe it is a question of getting used to it and let it grow on you? Looking forward to more.
    ronell

  • Matthew says:

    Perhaps you’re using too much oil? Only 25% make to the volume of paint is to be used.

    It makes a huge difference what type of brushes you use as well. I can’t deal with synthetics at all with oils. Chungking Bristle is my workhorse and I use some red sables for fine details, signing, and when I want to eliminate brush strokes.

  • luci says:

    Wow! Those candies look so vibrant. How did you make it look shiny, Silvia?

    *I have a new blog.

  • :) Silvia says:

    Matthew, thank you very much for your advice, I will consider it next time I paint as I think that last time I made a 50:50 mixture :o)…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One step forward and then… at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

