The reasons why I don’t like transparent watercolors

April 24, 2008 § 4 Comments

…is that I cannot achieve dark darks with them. And I really like a wide value range in my paintings, starting from bright white to deep black if possible. So I often find myself adding black ink to my watercolor paintings in the end, just because I couldn’t achieve those dark values that I had been looking for just by mixing my watercolors. Well, and after I have added the black ink, I sometimes get out my white acrylic ink, too, to enhance the highlights and then I usually get out my pastel pencils, my colored pencils and my oil pastels as well and — I end up with a mixed media piece :-|.

You see, I really appreciate those beautiful watercolor paintings by all those gifted painters out there whenever I see them, but over time and with many (mainly failed) attempts to paint I realized that I’m probably more the acrylic and oil color kind of girl.

pink guy

“flamingo”, transparent watercolor, postcard

(Ref. from WC RIL)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to The reasons why I don’t like transparent watercolors

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The reasons why I don’t like transparent watercolors at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

