Back again :)

April 19, 2008 § 2 Comments

light a candle

“light a candle”, oil on canvas board, w: 30 cm h: 22 cm

A big hello to all of you out there, I really hope you didn’t miss me too much, but I have been very busy last month. Fortunately now I’m ready to continue my postings here on WP. (There are so many blogs I haven’t checked for a while, well, you’ll here and see more of me soon :)!)

So, what’s new? Well, I still had these oil paints and I finally made up my mind to get serious with them. After reading a little bit in the oil painting forum over at WetCanvas I’ve decided to give this 120-oil-paintings-challenge a go. It’s my aim to create about 120 oil paintings in the next four months (just for the record that means that I’ll have to finish one little painting each day). According to the rules of this challenge all the paintings have to be created from life (no photos or computer aided design allowed) and they have to be finished in one hour each. I’m convinced that this is a good way to get aquainted fast to oil color and furthermore it will help me train my sight and my drawing skills. After working so much with photos and graphic software lately I have grown too dependent on them. The first painting was a shock for me, I couldn’t figure out what values and colors I could see, but after the second painting I felt much more comfortable. Practice is everything I guess :o).

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Back again :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back again :) at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

