Man In The Mirror

May 20, 2007 § 10 Comments

I can’t stand rough watercolor paper for drawing purposes. No matter whether we’re talking about graphite, charcoal, colored pencils or oilpastels. What on earth made me use it for this drawing??? Don’t know, I’m just happy that I’m almost done with it :)!

reflective mind - a pencil portrait
“reflective mind”, graphite, WIP

§ 10 Responses to Man In The Mirror

  • luci says:

    Sylvia, do you not like it because of the texture it creates? I once made a charcoal drawing on similar paper; I didn’t like it either at first. But, I quite like it now. I hope your feeling will change too for this is a superb drawing. The title is apt. She looks pensive, and she makes one wonder — what is she ruminating about? (nosy mind wants to know)

  • :) Silvia says:

    Yes, Luci, you’re right, I don’t like it because of the texture it creates. It’s so noisy…

  • Ronell says:

    In spite of the paper you don’t like, this is a lovely drawing! I’m not fond of too rough paper for charcoal/graphite either, though I do like some “tooth”
    ronell

  • Walker says:

    You are great!

  • Pat G. says:

    Siliva,
    This is one of those “grass is greener on the other side” comments.
    I know what you mean when your not happy with a certain medium during a piece. But, since I just get to look at it, I like it a lot. The rough surface lends a bit of ambiguity and with a few well drawn details it makes parts pop out. I like your work.

  • Christeen says:

    This is a breathtaking drawing. I know you don’t like the paper’s texture- you’ll have to deal with folks gushing over it anyway. 🙂

  • Robyn says:

    I’ve come to gush too! I think it’s a stunning drawing. Now where are you up to with that first oil painting?

  • Serena says:

    I’m not keen on rough paper either but I think your drawing is beautiful!!!

  • badthing says:

    Oh wow this is gorgeous! just gorgeous, Silvia!!!!!

  • melissa says:

    This is breathtaking! Even though you aren’t pleased about working on the paper the end result is outstanding.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Man In The Mirror at : silviasblog.com :.

meta

